News & Events

Arkansas’ 91st General Assembly Convenes

The 91st General Assembly convened this week with Senate President Pro Tem Jonathan Dismang and House Speaker Jeremy Gillam taking control of their respective chambers. 

Speaker Gillam announced committee chairs, including Republican Rep. Bruce Cozart, chair of House Education; Republican Rep. Jeff Wardlaw, chair of House Public Health; Republican Rep. Joe Jett, chair of House Revenue & Tax; Republican Rep. Dan Douglas, chair of House Agriculture; and Republican Rep. Charlie Collins, chair of House Insurance & Commerce.

Senator committee chairs, which were also announced the week, are: Republican Sen. Cecile Bledsoe will chair Senate Public Health; Republican Sen. Jason Rapert will chair Senate Insurance & Commerce; Republican Sen. Ronald Caldwell will chair Senate Agri; Republican Sen. Jane English will chair Senate Education; and Republican Sen. Jake Files will chair Senate Rev & Tax.

Governor Asa Hutchinson also delivered his State of the State address this week where he outlined his legislative priorities for the 91st General Assembly. Governor Hutchinson identified the following as specific priorities:

  • Efficiency in state government
  • $50 million tax cut
  • Reforming the tax code
  • Higher education funding
  • Improvements to foster child care

309 bills have been filed thus far — a significant increase over the 130 bills that were filed at this point during the 2015 session.

The House and Senate will reconvene Tuesday morning.

Visit www.inveritasinfo.com for weekly recaps of the 91st General Assembly.

To learn more about inVeritas’ services, including public relations, market research, government relations and management consulting, visit our website or find us on Facebook and LinkedIn.