News & Events

Davis Announced as Member of LeadAR Class 20

Meagan Davis, Vice President of Government Relations and Strategic Partnerships for inVeritas, was announced as a member of LeadAR Class 20.  Meagan is one of twenty-one class members chosen from around the state.

LeadAR is an 18-month program that provides an in-depth learning experience about economic and social issues impacting Arkansas.  The program includes monthly seminars on topics such as public health, natural resources, agriculture, livestock and community, and economic development.  In September 2023, participants will travel to Washington, D.C. to learn about policy development and to meet with their congressional delegation to discuss issues impacting their community.  In the fall of 2024, the class will travel abroad to learn how international issues and policy decisions impact the United States and Arkansas.  The program also requires participates to design and complete a community leadership project.

Operated by the Division of Agriculture’s Cooperative Extension Service, LeadAR was founded in 1984 and originally modeled after W.K. Kellogg Foundation’s leadership training program.

To learn more about LeadAR, click here.

LeadAR Class 20 Members:

  • Rachel Bearden, Hot Spring County extension agent for the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture
  • Sherry Beaty-Sullivan, Polk County extension staff chair for the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture
  • Chelsea Boozer, government affairs manager for Central Arkansas Water
  • Arnetta Bradford, owner of HeBrews 11:1 coffee shop in Hope
  • Sylvia Brown, director of strategic operations for the Ruralorganizing.org Education Fund
  • Harold Clark Jr., battalion fire chief for Pine Bluff Fire and Emergency Services
  • Angelique Cooper, community partnerships for Southern Bancorp
  • Meagan Davis, vice president of government relations and strategic partnerships for inVeritas
  • Jody Harris, co-owner of Harris Valley Springs Farm
  • Jason Kaufman, district director of Arkansas Farm Bureau
  • David Long, northwest Arkansas director of engineering and development for Cromwell Architects Engineers
  • Michael Mangrum, owner of MLM Farms in Lake City
  • Desarae Nelson, director of TRIO Student Support Services for the University of Arkansas at Little Rock
  • Winfrey Norton, outreach editor for the U.S. Department of Agriculture Economic Research Service
  • Daniel Phillips, state surveyor for the Arkansas Department of Transformation and Shared Services
  • Wendell Scales Jr., deputy director of innovation for Arkansas Lighthouse Charter Schools
  • Christel Taylor, director of workforce and downtown development for the Newport Economic Development Commission
  • Priscella Thomas-Scott, extension instructor and 4-H events coordinator for the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture
  • Dan Villamor, research scientist for the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture
  • Stacy Walley, southern lumber sales manager for Weyerhaeuser Company
  • Anthony Whittington, director of parks and trails for the City of Hot Springs