News & Events

Voters to Decide Arkansas Primary Elections Tomorrow

Early voting for the May 22 primary elections and nonpartisan judicial elections kicked off on May 7. According to the Arkansas Democrat Gazette, more than 4,100 Arkansans cast a ballot on the first day of early voting.

As of May 17, 68,519 votes had been cast, including 43,103 in the Republican primary and 24,296 in the Democratic primary, according to the Arkansas Secretary of State. 2,921 absentee votes have been.

Tomorrow marks the last day to vote in the Arkansas primary elections. If required, primary runoff elections will be held on June 19 and the general election will be held on November 6.

Three candidates are running for the Arkansas Supreme Court. Supreme Court Justice Courtney Goodson faces Court of Appeals Judge Kenneth Hixon and Department of Human Services Chief Counsel David Sterling.

The race for a seat on the Arkansas Supreme Court has been the most interesting and controversial election thus far, as hundreds of thousands of so-called “dark money” has been spent on advertising and television ads. Justice Goodson has filed two defamation lawsuits hoping to block local television networks from running the ads.

After a number of judges recused themselves from the case, Pulaski County Circuit Judge Mackie Pierce will preside over the lawsuit.

In the Republican primary for governor, incumbent Governor Asa Hutchinson faces a primary challenger in Republican Jan Morgan. Jared Henderson and Leticia Sanders face off in the Democratic primary for governor.

Two are vying to replace Mark Martin in the Republican primary for secretary of state, including current Commissioner of State Lands John Thurston and current State Representative Trevor Drown.

In Arkansas’ 2nd Congressional District, four Democrats are running to unseat incumbent Congressman French Hill in the November election. Current State Representative Clarke Tucker, Paul Spencer, Gwen Combs and Jonathan Dunkley are all vying to become the Democratic nominee in the 2nd District.

In the Arkansas legislature, 36 candidates filed for 19 state senate seats, while 178 candidates filed for all 100 house seats up for election. The legislative races will include 58 general election races and 26 primaries.

Polls will close at 7:30 p.m. on May 22. No matter who you vote for, just make sure you vote. Click here to find your polling location.